Skip to content

cha cha tea caramel rooibos

February 10, 2010

Every once and a while, we just need a little something sweet to curb those dessert cravings. And while digging in to a pint of Rocky Road ice cream is often the solution,  sometimes it’s not the smartest choice. Tonight was one of those nights for me. I had barely three hours sleep last night, and a less than perfect day. I just wanted to indulge. I craved cheesecake, creme brulee, banana cream pie, cinnamon rolls, chocolate, you name it, I wanted it. I was so close to jumping in my car to go and get a banana split. But instead, I thought Rooibos. Rooibos is such an amazing foil for dessert-like flavors, it really is an indulgent tea, guilt-free.

This blend from Cha Cha Tea has one of the most tantalizing aromas I have experienced in a herbal tea. Straight-up delicious. I would wear this scent. Whiffs of deep caramel, vanilla overtones and rich butterscotch. The Rooibos smells earthy and slightly nutty. It smells like a bakery, with fresh cake coming out of the oven and rich buttercream frosting being whipped to a frenzy.

The taste. Mmm. The caramel flavor shines through and is buttery and rich. That characteristically earthy and nutty Rooibos complements the blend perfectly. It is delicately sweet, as if someone slipped a little honey into the brew. It has great body and a richness that really satisfies my craving. It tastes like vanilla cream cake with dulce de leche.

After I tasted the blend as is, I decided to try it latte style and added steamed vanilla soy milk and a little honey. I brewed the Rooibos extra strong and it was purely decadent. Exactly what I needed. This is a great, highly versatile Rooibos blend that is sure to fulfill the strongest dessert craving.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

