Skip to content

mighty leaf tea orange dulce

February 2, 2010

It is my last day off of work from the restaurant for the week. I feel like I sort of wasted my two free days, even though I accomplished everything I needed to. I’m just not ready to walk through the swinging doors of the kitchen just yet. Regardless of how I feel about work, I am still a tea-head. And it makes me happy to be able to try new teas for the first time. So, today I was at the supermarket, and while passing through the tea/coffee aisle I found a box of full leaf sachets by Mighty Leaf Tea. This will be the first tea bag reviewed at 99kettles.  They were $13.99 for 15 tea bags which seems a tad expensive considering the massive amount of loose tea I can get for that price. But people will pay for convenience, and if the quality is there, I will too.

I chose Orange Dulce out of the seven varieties simply because I liked the name. Dulce translates to “sweet” or “candy” and I was in the mood for a dessert-like tea. The silky tea sachets are large enough for the full leaf tea to expand inside the bag and steep to its full potential. The leaves seem a little smaller in comparison to flavored loose leaf tea, but it looked good, and I can see what the tea is composed of. The aroma is fresh and floral, with a strong citrus fragrance.

The cup brews a bright mahogany. The fragrance is certainly dessert-like, with sweet vanilla and orange perfume. It tastes like a creamsicle! Rich citrusy notes and vanilla blend with strong floral character due to the jasmine flowers included in this blend. The tea flavor is quite mild but still flavorful and rich. A nice backbone to the flavors that are more prominent.

I really enjoyed my first Mighty Leaf Tea experience! I think this tea would also be great iced, with a some honey and a little fresh mint. Mmm. I think I might make some soon!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 8:40 pm

    This is one of my favorite Mighty Leaf Blends. I keep a stash at work for when I need a pick me up 🙂

Leave a Reply

