Skip to content

starbucks new vanilla rooibos latte

January 26, 2010
tags:

I’m not gonna lie. I love a good latte. And since my recent foray into the tea world, I have missed them. So, today, while trying to get some writing done at my local Starbucks, I decided to try one of their new tea lattes. I have heard a lot about how Starbucks has moved to full leaf bags. I was dying to try them, so today was the perfect time.

So, I ordered the London Fog Latte, which uses Earl Grey tea. They were out. Next best, I ordered up the Vanilla Rooibos Latte. It looks very appetizing. I admit I had a preconceived notion of what it was going to taste like, and I was on the money. It’s creamy, milky, foamy, with the sweet, earthy flavor of the Rooibos and a good hit of vanilla flavor. As it was my first time ordering it, so I wanted to get the “as-is” experience. Next time, I will go with less sweetener. It’s good, don’t get me wrong. It’s good in a guilty-pleasure sort of way. But the real tea flavor will come through in a much more clear way if there’s a little less sugar clouding it.

There is a little controversy surrounding Starbucks’ latest move. Tea lovers divide. Some say this is a genius move, and will bring in a new wave of tea-fandom. Maybe start another tea revolution, making tea truly the new coffee, and great quality tea easier to find and enjoy. But some say that Starbucks tea isn’t great tea anyway, so how can it be good for the tea world? All I say is this: Starbucks is introducing a better tea product than most hugely mainstream chains that offer tea. This is surely not their last move related to tea. I bet they are planning big things. Increasing the demand for better tea makes it easier for us to enjoy better tea. Maybe not at Starbucks, but wherever we choose. I can’t see anything bad about that. But that’s just me.

I will try the London Fog soon. I love a good Earl Grey. Hopefully it lives up to my expectations.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 4:37 pm

    Enjoyed reading this! If Starbucks manages to get more people interested in tea, good on them. Right now, they’re not really my cup of tea, but as you said, we don’t have to drink there, the choice is ours. Although having said that, there isn’t all that much choice. One thing though, the Earl Gray latte has 31g of sugar in a serving. All that vanilla syrup I guess. Wow!

    http://www.starbucks.com/retail/nutrition_beverage_detail.asp?selproducts=1c3a727b-0878-4124-a4c7-fc0e5f2009fe&straction=getdefault&x=27&y=6

Leave a Reply

