Skip to content

tea desire genmaicha

January 11, 2010

Genmaicha is a blend of roasted rice (Genmai) and tea (cha). In this case, the tea is Bancha, a Japanese green tea.  A cool thing about Genmaicha is that some of the rice pieces pop like popcorn during the roasting process, so it is sometimes nicknamed the “popcorn tea”, although it doesn’t actually contain any corn.

The dry tea has lots of roasted rice and dark green Bancha leaves.  It smells very earthy and starchy, with some vegetal notes from the Bancha, but I’m mostly picking up the smoky, roasty aroma of the rice. It is very appetizing.

The tea liquor is a nice yellowish-green color. The aroma of the roasted rice character is prominent. It smells buttery, like movie theatre popcorn. I detect the carmelization of the rice, a soft smoky fragrance, with a hint of nuttiness. There is almost a chicken-soup essence to this. I’m attributing that to umami.

Yes, definitely umami. As I taste this tea, it is almost as if I am sipping a delicious savory broth. There is something so satisfying about it. There is a light, pleasant starchy component, which makes the tea feel very substantial. There is, again, a buttery, popcorn-y flavor that comes out. The flavor of the Bancha is a little more subtle than the rice, but provides a great backbone to the flavors. I can taste the grassy, spinach-y flavors of the Bancha, but they absolutely do not overwhelm this brew.

Thank you Tea Desire for another fabulous tea! I am absolutely loving this one. I love the aromas, the flavors and the feeling it gave me. This is a comfort tea. And now I feel like having some comfort food. Maybe a little chicken noodle soup?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Joey permalink
    January 27, 2010 5:43 am

    This sounds very comforting. After, reading this blog this reminds me much of the comforts of home with my parents.

Leave a Reply

