Skip to content

tea desire masala chai

January 9, 2010

Starbucks and I have a simple relationship. I love their lattes and their lattes love my money. The chai latte from Starbucks was my first and only introduction to chai, until very recently, when my sister Erica cooked up the most amazing masala chai I have ever tasted. Until that moment, I really didn’t know that my poor venti latte wasn’t very good at all.

The chai masala I bought from Tea Desire was a blend of black tea, cinnamon, cardamom, ginger, cloves and black pepper. The aroma of the dry spice is intense, peppery and exotic. It kind of smells like curry. And I love curry.

I put water and the masala chai spice mixture on the stove and let it simmer for about ten (or so) minutes. I then added the milk and sugar and let it heat through. I strained the brew into my cup. It looked and smelled amazing. I was so excited to taste the tea that I burned my tongue a little bit. I let it cool for a couple of minutes after that.

The chai is warmly spiced, sweet and decadent. The ginger is lively and exotic, the cardamom sweet and inviting. It has the perfect amount of cinnamon, just enough to enhance the overall flavor, but not overpower the more subtle cardamom. The brew was rich and creamy, and though I will probably use soy most of the time, the milk was indulgent, and just what I needed after a crazy night at the restaurant. Oh, I am loving this.

This masala chai is outstanding. If only I had known it was so easy, and so economical to make a beverage highly superior to Starbucks’ Chai Latte, believe me, I would have been boiling spices on the stove a long time ago!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 4:00 am

    Glad to hear that you broke free of Starbucks’ chains 😀

  2. cortneywagner permalink*
    January 11, 2010 6:30 am

    Thanks for the post! I watch your tea casts all the time!

  3. January 12, 2010 10:48 pm

    Oh no way! I’m so glad that makes my day!!

  4. March 13, 2010 1:41 am

    Cortney, reealy excellent article, I love Chai & am amazed that nice Chai is not more commonly available – there’s an opportunity I think, k

Leave a Reply

