Skip to content

tea desire chinese sencha

January 7, 2010

I am tired and cold. I just got home from work not long ago, and my body really, really wants to go to bed. Unfortunately, though, my mind is not at all on the same page. I have a lot of work to do. Luckily, I really enjoy writing tea reviews. So it’s not much of a disaster to come home and brew tea and write tasting notes.

This tea is yet another that I purchased from Tea Desire. I feel really lucky that there is a tea shop so close to my house. I can go there anytime and get my fix. They have a great loose tea selection, and lots of great tea-ware. I plan on trying nearly all the teas they have. But I digress. This sencha came highly recommended, as a great everyday green tea.

The dry leaf smells very spinach-y, also, I detect a little bit of nori. I am getting a little bit of a toasty characteristic from the leaves.

Steeped, the tea liqour is a very light yellow-green color. The nose is warm and grassy. There is a somewhat buttery or starchy quality along with the typical vegetal scent. On the palate, the sencha is grassy, lots of spinach-like flavor. Again, I am getting a bit of a roasty characteristic on the finish, which is very pleasant.

Overall this sencha is a mild green tea, with plenty of great flavor, no overpowering green here. No fishy qualities which is a very good thing for me. I like fish.You know, like a grilled salmon fillet, on my plate, but not so much in my cup… I would say that this is a nice light-bodied green tea for everyday drinking, very satisfying but not extraordinary. Nothing too complex. But a great cup.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

