Skip to content

tea desire cream of earl grey

January 5, 2010

One of the teas I purchased today was Cream of Earl Grey. Ok, the salesperson at Tea Desire basically told me I was going to swoon and moan over just the scent of this tea. I was skeptical. But she was right, of course, and the random lady standing beside me swooned as well (“Oh, my God, Oh! Earl Grey! Earl Grey! Earl! Earl…”).

It’s a very pretty tea, with little rose petals, and the scent of the citrus and floral notes that waft up are balanced by a hint of creamy vanilla. The blend I acquired includes black tea, bourbon-vanilla bits, rose petals, jasmine flowers and “bergamot cream flavor”. I brewed it tonight and watched in anticipation as it steeped. It really is a beautifully fragrant tea.

I poured a cup, and took a sip. It was literally mouthwatering. I think that came from the citrusy element in the bergamot. There is definitely a strong floral component, but it is far from over-powering. I’m not a fan of jasmine, but it works really well in this blend. I tend to like creamy, sweet teas, so I added some honey, and it was lovely. It brought out some of the more subtle flavors in a really good way. I later added some milk, and there it was, the perfect cup of Earl Grey (for me). I really did enjoy it on its own, but it was love at first sip after the milk and honey. I can see this one is going to have a near-permanent place in my tea collection. Teagasm!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Eric permalink
    January 5, 2010 2:08 pm

    We loved your review your mom is running out to buy some today.Love the blog ,Keep it up,Live your dreams and enjoy this life.
    Love Mom and Dad

  2. Joey permalink
    January 27, 2010 5:12 am

    The way you describe this tea sounds delicious! I am not really a fan of earl grey, although I’ve used it in various recipes for making sorbet, and steaming poultry. I think I should widen my horizons and give it a shot, considering the only earl grey I’ve tasted was in bag form.

Leave a Reply

