Skip to content

beginning to write

December 27, 2009
tags:

I should preface with the fact that I’ve always been a writer, and always had the aspirations to write, but life got in my way. In 2006, I graduated from the University of Prince Edward Island with an English degree, with big dreams and big passion, but no idea how to “be a writer”. Surely there was more to it than just the act of writing. I know how to do that.

But…. How do I get published? How do I make the right contacts? Do I go to writing school? Take a journalism program? While I am sure that it would have been beneficial to go back to school to learn more about the industry that I wanted to break into, I had this thing hanging over my head.

I had to pay rent.

So I worked in a restaurant as a server and got addicted to the lifestyle. I made money quickly, I could take off all the time I wanted, I loved being around food and being part of the restaurant world. It was fast-paced, never boring. But, with all the good intentions in the world, I barely touched my fingers to the keyboard. I went out with friends, went shopping, spent money, fell in love, and distractions were all around me.  I woke up one day and I was 27, working in a restaurant and I hadn’t even tried to start a career.

That ends today.

Call it a whim, a pre-new years resolution, call it whatever the hell you want to, I am beginning to write today…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Joey permalink
    January 27, 2010 4:55 am

    I stumbled upon your video on youtube and clicked the link to your blog. I wanted to start from from the beginning, and although I am late in the game of reading. I already am very interested in your blog, I too love tea, and am distracted with life. Hopefully I can turn that around someday too

  2. January 28, 2010 4:08 am

    Thanks for your post Joey and for following the blog! Happy reading and good luck with turning your life around. I’m sure everything will be fine!

Leave a Reply

