Skip to content

review: refreshing sencha from my tea shelf

March 3, 2011

My Tea Shelf is a Seattle based one-woman business. Cristina Pulido has a background in design, but had a passion for flavors and aromas, which prompted her to pursue this venture. She designs and hand stamps all the packaging herself. The packaging and the presentation of the tea is very aesthetically pleasing. One of the unique qualities of My Tea Shelf is the incorporation of Latin American flavors and non-traditional ingredients in the blends (penela, cloves, carrot bits, basil etc.). The majority of the blends are herbal infusions, though there are a few tea blends, such as Refreshing Sencha.

Refreshing Sencha, like all of the blends at My Tea Shelf, is a beautiful blend to look at. The dry leaf smells herbaceous and citrusy. The blend consists of organic lemon verbena, dried mango, organic peppermint and spearmint and vanilla sencha green tea.

The infusion comes out a fantastic bright yellow and has a strong minty-lemon aroma which is quite nice. Although I am generally more a fan of pure, unadulterated teas, I do enjoy some blended teas very much. For instance, sometimes Earl Grey is just the only thing that can satisfy me. Also, a creamy Masala Chai or a good Moroccan Mint tea can’t be beat. This blend sort of reminds me of Moroccan Mint, with a fruity, citrus kick.

The flavors are very bright and slightly sweet. It has good body and a nice green tea base of flavor. The sencha does take a backseat to the mango, mint and lemon verbena, but it gives the infusion balance.

I iced some of this tea, and added a bit of lime and fresh mint and it was fantastic!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2011 8:48 pm

    This looks amazing the pics look so fresh and clear. I’m also glad to see Seattle moving more into tea. I am from there and moved away almost 10 years ago and I miss the culture there.

  2. December 10, 2012 11:14 am

    thank you very much for these pictures! they are amazing!

  3. January 25, 2013 6:34 am

    I’m currently in the process of setting up an online tea shop, any tips or favorites you think I should add to those I will stock?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

