Skip to content

review: teaopia jade snow green tea

February 28, 2011

Teaopia is a Canadian retailer of loose leaf tea, tea-ware and accessories. They have a wide selection of teas that number over 100 varieties. I recently visited my local Teopia in the Fairview Park Mall in Kitchener, ON. The staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and pleasantly accomodated my extended lurking and questions (thanks!). I love this company. My only wish is that they add a few more good Oolongs (Wen Shan Bao Zhong anyone?), great black teas from China (Golden Monkey) etc. I am just not feeling the flavored teas as much lately. I still think they have their place sometimes, I am just so interested in pure teas and the natural flavor profiles that come from the terroir, the particular strains of cameilla sinensis etc.

So, this tea is called Jade Snow Green Tea. The dry leaf is very attractive, with downy white tips throughout. The scent is pleasant, but very light, a slightly grassy and lightly floral nose.

I steeped my tea in a gaiwan, which is my first choice when doing my tastings these days (it’s a 99cent gaiwan from Chinatown!). The liquor presents light yellow, and has a bouquet of savory vegetal notes, a bit of a honeysuckle scent and a light stone-fruit quality. The tea smells sweet and is very enticing.

Initially the taste is light but it gradually opens up as it reaches the rest of your palate. The flavor is bright and fresh with a little briskness on the finish. A little bit of citrus rind too, which gives balance and complexity to the flavor profile. This tea has “that thing” about good green teas that I just love so much. It’s kind of indescribable but it’s the savory, soup-like quality that is so soothing and satisfying on a level beyond just taste. It’s an experience.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 2, 2012 6:22 am

    I’ve heard of Teaopia too. Great teas, and great blog. Thank you

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

